Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus. Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. Philippians 3:12-14 (KJV)

As I begin to reflect on this past year of 2011, and look forward to the new year I feel so privileged to have been called into this marvelous light. With all that we have faced in this past year – I never could have made it on my own. It was GOD. It was the prayers of family and friends and the people of God who have pressed into the Mercy Seat on my behalf. Thank you. I can say with certainty that the enemy has not only been warring against my family, faith and goals but against those who choose to live a righteous life, the enemy’s time IS short. We can see throughout the world internationally the desperation of people regarding finances, troubled politics and family values.

Someone asked me just recently with the news of current events, “How bad can it get? Honestly,” I said to her “it’s not gonna get better but, look up for our redemption draweth nigh”. We have a hope. Christ’s coming is making headlines, we need to realize that. Yes – I heard that 2012 is predicted to be the end of the world, the end of the Mayan calendar and all the hype that is being made on December 23, 2012. “But of that day and hour knoweth no man, no, not the angels of heaven, but my Father only“. Let’s just be ready.

For this next coming year the Lord has been dealing with me on spending less time on ‘latest and greatest”, and more on “rekindling the relationships of the past”. (Don’t be surprised that I show up on your doorstep with some dessert! LOL.) Focusing on people and not situations and pressing on to new victories in Christ. Paul says, don’t think that I’m all that, but I can’t be STUCK on the people, memories and experiences that hurt me, but salvage what we can, and move forward to what God has called you to do, LOVE People. Yeah, there are still some hurts, disappointments, and circumstances that are uncomfortable for us. But unless we embrace those things, learn from them, we cannot move to the place that God has prepared for us to minister at. Jesus did. Pharisees, Sadducee reviled Him, and his disciples all failed Him especially at the time He needed them the most. Did you notice that His words of forgiveness was for all who had placed Him on that tree? for ALL, He didn’t exclude anyone. If we’re to be Christ-like we must forgive ALL and most importantly FORGET. (God give us grace!) Something I’m still working on. Didn’t I start by saying “Not as though I had already attained”…

Let me encourage you to “press toward the mark” in 2012. Forget the things that are behind, and reach (for some that is a big stretch) forth on those things that are before. God has much more than we can imagine for us. Yes, there are heartaches, and circumstances that we will need to overcome – but all that means is that there’s a bump in the road, on our way to Victory. …and if by chance there is a ditch on that road, know that our God is a bridge over your deepest hurts and situations. Be blessed in 2012 and Victory is OURS in Christ Jesus, Author and Finisher of our Faith!

Be Encouraged

