Pray without ceasing. I Thessalonians 5:17 (KJV)

In this mornings prayer, I felt God give a smirk as I went through my daily ‘mentions’. I didn’t think anything at first, but as I continued my morning reciting of situations that need His attention I felt His eyebrow lift. “Okay, what?“. He said “didn’t you already place this in my hands?” embarrassed I said “yes, but, I want to remind you that I really need your intervention here God”.
I felt Him say so clearly as I myself have said SO many times “I got this“…

Webster defines pray as entreat, implore —often used as a function word in introducing a question, request, or plea.
Jesus said that prayer as a way of communication to the Father, a direct connection to Him. If we have a relationship with Him then there is no reason that “all things” won’t “work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”
But, when have I prayed enough? My mother had a standing prayer request for her children’s salvation, and if she could speak freely today I KNOW, she would say, “Pray for my children’s salvation”. Does that mean that God has never heard her prayer, or that He hasn’t felt the tears were shed for them? Jesus said “But when ye pray, use not vain repetitions, as the heathen do: for they think that they shall be heard for their much speaking.” Matthew 6:6-8 (KJV) God doesn’t want you to stop praying for intervention, salvation or healing – but He wants something that is earnest, that is entreating Him to move miraculously. HE WILL. (BTW: I have picked up the torch for my siblings salvation! and He will perform His will)

In addition, there are something’s that have a divine purpose. Is there Divine Purpose in sickness? in pain? in hurt? Yes, yes, yes. Don’t you think that the New Testament saints prayed for divine intervention while they were going through persecution? In the midst of their torture, how many Christians have cried out to the One who can deliver?
If it be so, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the burning fiery furnace, and he will deliver us out of thine hand, O king. But if not, be it known unto thee, O king, that we will not serve thy gods, nor worship the golden image which thou hast set up.” Daniel 3:17-18 (KJV) It is their ‘faith’ that delivered them from their physical torture, pain, sickness and that give us hope even today. Three phrases stand out: “God, is able to deliver us”, “He will deliver us”, and “we will not”. From where we stand we can not see what God has in store for them that Love Him and that are yielded to His will. We have assurance in His promises. I submit to you today, that we CAN NOT change the minds, attitudes or situations of the ones we love or even our situations – but we can change the hands from who controls their destiny. From our hands, to HIS, the Hebrew boys realized it, the early Christians held to it, and our modern day martyrs have believed it.

Back to my question: When have I prayed enough for the situation? and why am I not satisfied with just leaving them in God’s hands.
The second question is probably the easiest to answer: I would like to say it’s because we’re human and we don’t know better, but the reality is we’re control freaks. Some of us need/want to know something is happening, even when it doesn’t need to be happening. Time is our best friend. God has a way of working things out even before we can think that far ahead. He has orchestrated a way long before the situation had presented itself. Don’t misunderstand; God doesn’t want you to stop asking, praying or interceding. His will is His will. We can not pray ritually, God can feel your heart however, just like we expect a good attitude when we are asked for help – He loves when you entreat Him. God is not YOUR servant. It is His “good pleasure” to have your petitions met. Bottom-line is God doesn’t make anybody DO ANYTHING, no matter how it will benefit us. I have heard testimonials of people being saved, healed and delivered after many years of supplication for them. It is the fervent prayer that moves God’s heart, it is the change of our attitude that causes miracles to transpire, it is the mustered seed of faith that moves mountains.

Prayer is something we can never have enough of. It is however, our attitude in prayer that can suppress our anxiety enough to allow God to do His work. Let’s face it, it is in our anxiousness that we mess things up – we try to ‘help’ God, intervene for us. His will is your happiness, without jeopardizing your relationship with Him (but that’s another thought). Pray that God moves in your situations, Know that He is Able. See the Miracle through the storm crashing all around you.

Be Encouraged

