Introduction

     Throughout the years we’ve purchased several items that needed to be assembled before use. Being the true ‘man’ that I am I didn’t always check the manual that came with the product. I simply would glance over the illustrations, look at the picture, screwdriver in hand, I would begin.  Half way through the project I would notice that the screws were either too big or too small.  On one occasion I spent 30 minutes looking for an appropriate wrench, only to find out that the box came with it ‘own’ fastening tool.  Every time – it never fails, I think I know what I’m doing, I find myself looking for that Owner’s Manual, or assembly instructions.

     Life is that way, we want to get things together, and it seems so easy. I know what I want, I’ve glanced through the articles, scriptures and can visualize what I want. Half way through my situation I’m looking for some kind of guidance or help.  However, I can’t always find the “Owner’s Manual” or assembly instructions that is particular to the situations happening in my life.
     In the Word of God there are examples of men and women who excelled in faith.  These men and women show us that the Righteousness of God prevail over the enemy of their time. Noah in a wicked generation, Esther over the enemy of her heritage, Abram leaving his homeland to follow God’s leading and Moses prevailing over his past and submitting to God’s instructions. It sounds all so simple – however I believe with all my heart that there was much more to it than we can imagine. Inter-struggles, mentally, psychologically.  Outer-struggles, socially, challenges to relationships. We have the our Bishops, Pastors, teachers and the Bible…who did they look to for instructions? Yet, they performed feats of faith over the laws of nature and time, all the while being just as human as we are today.
Of course they were not bombarded on every side by the technology as we are today. ‘Real’ relationships with God were established without distractions of the world around them – but I bet they felt just as frustrated, anxious and overwhelmed at times as we do today. Be encouraged by these “Heroes of Faith” who faced the same human emotions as you and I.  Each of these men and women of God prevailed with God on their side, and so can YOU. The fight may have a different date but the struggle has the same emotional, spiritual, and psychological toll on us today. There is no rushing God, He’s got an “Owner’s Manual” especially written for you and your situation.

“My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing. If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him”.
James 1:2 – 5
